The 2021 appointments for the Order of Ontario have been announced, and there are some notable real estate players among the honourees.

Stephen Diamond, President and CEO of DiamondCorp and Steve Gupta, Founder and Chairman of Gupta Group, were named among the 24 new appointments by the Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario and Chancellor of the Order of Ontario for the province’s highest honour today, and will be further feted at a ceremony to be held on November 21.

Diamond, known as a “driving force” behind many of Toronto’s key developments, is being recognized for his many philanthropic contributions to Sunnybrook Hospital, City of Toronto’s PAYE Program, Sanctuary House and the United Jewish Appeal.

Stephen diamondStephen Diamond, President and CEO of DiamondCorp

Gupta, who famously immigrated to Ontario with just $108, is recognized as a leader in the hospitality and condominium industries. The Order notes his previous recognition by RBC as one of Canada’s top 25 immigrants, as well as his contributions to the establishment of eye surgery camps in India, dialysis machines in Guyana, and the Indigenous Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurship in Canada.

Steve guptaSteve Gupta, Founder and Chairman of The Gupta Group

"As Chancellor of the Order, I join Ontarians in congratulating the 2021 Order of Ontario appointees,” said Her Honour Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario and Chancellor of The Order of Ontario. “Their service to our province is a reminder to all of us fortunate enough to call Ontario home, that the fabric of society is knit together by good deeds and the dedication of individuals. May their accomplishments be an inspiration and example for many to follow.”

The Order of Ontario is awarded to “exceptional leaders from all walks of life and diverse fields of endeavour,” who have made a lasting impact and legacy, further strengthening the province, and by extension, Canada and the world. A total of 822 people have been honoured since the Order’s establishment in 1986. Appointments to the order are based on the recommendation of an independent advisory council, which looks at the merit of nominees’ accomplishments, who are put forth by the public. 

The full list for the 2021 appointees to the Order of Ontario are:

  • Payam Akhavan
  • Walter Arbib
  • Teresa Cascioli
  • George Chuvalo
  • Angela Cooper Brathwaite
  • Aimée Craft
  • Stephen Diamond
  • Nishan Duraiappah
  • Mitch Frazer
  • Leo Goldhar
  • Steve (Suresh) Gupta
  • Elise Harding-Davis
  • Armand P. La Barge
  • Sandra Laronde
  • Dave Levac
  • David McKay
  • Barbara Morrongiello
  • Lori Nikkel
  • Rose M. Patten
  • Christina Petrowska Quilico
  • Robert Poirier
  • Kevin Smith
  • Joan VanDuzer
  • Sara Waxman

The nomination deadline is March 31 each year. Learn more about how to nominate a resident or former long-term resident of Ontario for the Order of Ontario here.

Real Estate News