Earlier this year, the City installed 50 automated speed enforcement (ASE) cameras throughout Toronto, and as of Monday, July 6, they began issuing tickets to drivers caught speeding.

Each speed camera was installed following the growing number of pedestrians and cyclists being killed in collisions on city streets and two cameras were installed in each of the city’s 25 wards as part of the Vision Zero plan to reduce traffic fatalities.

According to the City, the new speed cameras issued 7,645 tickets between July 6 and 20, 2020, the first two weeks following the start of issuing tickets.

READ: Where Every Speed Camera is Located in Toronto (MAP)

During this period, the highest speed detected was 89 km/h on Renforth Drive near Lafferty Street (Ward 2 – Etobicoke Centre) where the posted speed limit is 40 km/h. The ASE camera on Renforth Drive issued the highest fine at $718, it also issued the most tickets at 890, representing 12% of all tickets.

The City says the total payable fine amount includes a set fine, which is determined by Schedule D under the Provincial Offences Act, a victim fine surcharge and applicable court costs. Offenders are only fined and demerit points are not applied.

According to the data, which takes approximately 10 days to process and report, the number of repeat offenders during the first two weeks following the start of issuing tickets was 591. The most frequent repeat offender received a total of eight tickets for speeding at Trehorne Drive near Duffield Road (Ward 2 – Etobicoke Centre).

The City says the new ASE camera locations were selected based on data that indicate where speed and collisions have been a problem and are located throughout the city on local, collector, and arterial roads in Community Safety Zones near schools.

To ensure that drivers know exactly where each speed camera is located, we’ve put together an interactive map that pins where the cameras are throughout the city and what ward they are part of.